Must Buy Games Quarter 4 2008

These are my must Buy Games for the rest of 2008. If you disagree you are wrong, or just have different tastes then me.

1. Tales of Vesperia – 08/28/2008 Xbox 360 Exclusive – Just finished up Tales of the abyss last month and now I’m itching for some next gen Tales action. Demo was awesome with hands down the best cel shaded graphics I have ever seen. Hopefully the story isn’t as diluted as Abyss was with all it’s stupid in-game world terms completely comprising sentences. EX: But Luke your hyperressonance from Malkuth would lower the outer flow and become the key of Lorelei. I mean wtf? Luckily people in Japan are making comparisons’ to one piece as far as the story goes, and that’s a good thing considering one piece is one of the few good anime left.

2. Spore – 09/07/2008 PC Exclusive – I hate the Sims, I hate the idea of this game, I know will hate this game, but thanks to massive hype and a need to validate my expensive WoW/Internet Playing machine I will buy this. So instead of talking about some of its supposedly great aspects, here’s overexposed Will Wright back to back with himself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Yakuza 2 09/09/2008 PS2 Exclusive – The first game was absolutely amazing and everything Shenmue would’ve been if it ever made the jump from Dreamcast to PS2 –era. Supposedly this game is everything the first one was but more. Unfortunately I was one of the few people who thought the dubbing was good in the first game and now due to budget constraints it’s all subtitles. Oh well, can’t complain too much considering we’re lucky to be getting the game at all.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Rock Band 2 – 09/14/2008 Xbox 360 1 Month Exclusive – Rock Band 2, sequel to the greatest music game ever. Guitar Hero 4 looks ok but I think I’m covered as far as plastic rock band instruments go. Maybe next year guysL.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Star Wars: Force Unleashed – 09/16/2008 Xbox 360 – Maybe it’s just because I’m so amped on Soul Calibur 4 right now but I cannot wait for this game. The Apprentice is just such a bad ass in SC4 putting Yoda and Vader to shame. Although there hasn’t been a good Star Wars light Saber games since Jedi Knight II I remain optimistic, early reports of the game have been positive as well so that’s always good.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Fallout 3 – 10/10/2008 Xbox 360 – Never played the other games in the series but this looks really fun. Here’s hoping it’s a bit more streamlined then Oblivion because that game really never drew me in. Felt too much like a single player World of Warcraft for my tastes. But this one has guns and that always helps.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Fable 2 – 10/21/2008 Xbox 360 Exclusive – When the first Fable came out I really couldn’t get passed the art style and thought the gameplay would be equally unappealing for me. However thanks to taking advantage of a friend who had no care for the wellbeing of his cash I got to play this game and it turned out to be quite an enjoyable experience. I was upset along with everyone else with all the features spokesman Peter Molenyux had promised to be in the game but didn’t end up making it in. Still it was quite an enjoyable game albeit a bit short. The addition of CO-OP and a slew of other features have me greatly anticipating this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8. Little Big Planet – 10/21/2008 PS3 Exclusive – This game looks absolutely phenomenal. Although I’m pumped at this moment to create some stages I probably will end up never touching the stage creation aspect of the game. However that most likely will not be a problem with the community full of people much more inspired than me will create hundreds upon hundreds of levels to play leaving this to be a game with unlimited potential. And if the Kratos Sack Boy is true………Amazing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9. Resistance 2 – 11/04/2008 PS3 Exclusive – Yarggggggg its resistance 2 making your ps3 relevant on the shooter front! Resistance 1 multiplayer was weak; it felt like Unreal Tournament but filled with tons of balance problems (rockets that kill you if you happen to be in the same stage as them, no thanks). A whole separate CO-OP campaign is an interesting way to solve the problem of not making your campaign less fun for players flying it solo, let’s just hope it doesn’t end up being a rush job. Because let’s face it a whole separate campaign is not cheap in the resource department. Even with a slew of new features this game will have to fight off other shooters this holiday season…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10. Gears of War 211/7/2008 Xbox 360 Exclusive – Speaking of other shooters, Gears of War 2 look absolutely amazing. Having played thousands of Gears of War online multiplayer matches a sequel with more modes, weapons, executions, and balance is everything I wanted. The original GoW was also one of the best CO-OP games I have ever played and one of the few games I have actually beaten twice. Simply cannot wait for this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11. Mirror’s Edge – 11/11/2008 Xbox 360 – When I first saw the premiere trailer for this I was floored. The music and the innovative emphasis on running and exploring in first person with *optional* gunplay is what did me in. When E3 came along I didn’t like what I saw anymore with the game sounding like it basically boils down to running into a room, frantically searching for a glowing red object and then running towards it when found. Dice has said that it is possible to turn off this glowing red object hint indicator yet I still remain skeptical. In this instance I really hope my feeling about this game is wrong (yet it’s still a must buy).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12. Banjo Kazooie Nuts & Bolts – 11/14/2008 Xbox 360 Exclusive – To Be honest I never really liked the previous Banjo games but I really liked Kameo. While a lot of people really hate on Rare’s art style, Kameo is still one of the best looking games to this day. Hopefully the feeling I got from Kameo’s graphics transfers over to Banjo because that really was what made that game for me. The vehicle stuff looks interesting too but hopefully there isn’t too much collect-a-thon stuff like other Banjo games.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13. Left 4 Dead – 11/17/2008 PC – Zombies. CO-OP. Must-Have.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

14. Prince of Persia – 11/18/2008 Xbox 360 – Seriously I cannot say anything about this game that the trailer doesn’t say. The game itself has an amazing new art direction, taking a revitalization of a classic game series and pumping new life into it again. It perplexes me though that there is all this emphasis on the new CO-OP stuff but your CO-OP partner is AI only. Maybe for it to be more emotional, similar to ICO? Either way do yourself and watch the trailer if you haven’t already: http://www.gametrailers.com/player/36270.html The song is Saeglopur by Sigur Ros.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

15. Persona 4 – 12/09/2008 PS2 Exclusive – Wow another Must-have PS2 game. I’ve been playing nothing but Persona 3 for the last two weeks in anticipation for this and I’m happy I did. Persona 3 was a refreshing take on a tired out Genre and I’m happy even more of it will be available. The new characters, setting, and intro all look absolutely fantastic. But Atlus let’s try not to release a improved version of the game that doesn’t allow for me to export my old game save when I’m halfway through it already, even if it is priced extremely cheap.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16. World of Warcraft: Wrath of the Lich King – Q4 2008 PC Exclusive – World of Warcraft is one of the best games ever. Regardless if you devote your entire life to it or just get to level 70 and play once in awhile. The first time I did the level 1 to 60 thing was one of the best gaming experiences to be had. Blizzard has taken in all they have learned over the last few years with their MMO and has created a new class, 10 new levels, and the best zones they have ever done is going to make Wrath of the Lich King amazing. And let’s face it, Blizzard can do no wrong.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 Must buy games for me this Q4 2008, not including any downloadable games, surprise review score games (wouldn’t mind to see sonic become purchase worthy) and any impulse buys. Let’s say 65 bucks for each game (damn tax) $65 x 16 = $1040. Um wow. Let’s hope some games get delayed otherwise I am going to be in debt. Oh well that’s what eBay is for – making gaming money, off to play some Persona 3 before Bionic Commando goes up on XBL Marketplace in an hour.

~ by spruchy on August 13, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
